Artvoice: Buffalo's #1 Newsweekly
Home Blogs Web Features Calendar Listings Artvoice TV Real Estate Classifieds Contact
Previous story: Building a Better Waterfront
Next story: Stagefright

The 2012 Artie Award Nominees...

The Artie-nominated cast of "For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuf," also nominated for choreography and costumes.

Buffalo’s theater awards ceremony scheduled for Monday, June 4

The Artie Awards, celebrating excellence in Buffalo theater, will take place at the Town Ballroom (681 Main Street) on Monday, June 4, at 8pm. Jazz vocalist Peggy Farrell will perform, and the evening will feature performances from nominated musicals. The Artie Awards are a benefit for Benedict House, supporting individuals in our community living with HIV/AIDS and their families.

And the nominees are…

"Emperor and Galilean," nominated for outstanding production, director, actor, supporting actor, set design, and costumes. (photo by Lukia Costello)
Outstanding Production of a Play A Wrinkle in Time, TOY Emperor and Galilean, Torn Space In the Next Room (or the vibrator play), New Phoenix Secrets of the Trade, BUA Time Stands Still, Kavinoky Outstanding Production of a Musical Avenue Q, MusicalFare Floyd Collins, ART 42nd Street, Kavinoky Hedwig and the Angry Inch, ALT Oliver!, MusicalFare Outstanding Ensemble of a Play Comedy of Queerers, Brazen-Faced Varlets For Colored Girls, Ujima The Divine Sister, BUA Peter Pan, New Phoenix Superior Donuts, RLTP Outstanding Ensemble of a Musical Avenue Q, MusicalFare Floyd Collins, ART Marvelous Wonderettes, O’Connell & Company Nunsense, A-Men; O’Connell & Company Oliver!, MusicalFare Outstanding Direction of a Play Kelli Bocock-Natale, Peter Pan Lara D. Haberberger, Comedy of Queerers David Oliver, Emperor and Galilean Meg Quinn, A Wrinkle in Time Robert Waterhouse, Time Stands Still Outstanding Direction of a Musical Jeffrey Coyle, Floyd Collins Chris Kelly, Oliver! Norm Sham, 42nd Street Michael Walline, Hedwig and the Angry Inch Doug Weyand, Avenue Q Outstanding Choreography Kelly Cammarata, 42nd Street Bobby Cooke, Oliver! Hilda Ramos, For Colored Girls Michael Walline, A Grand Night for Singing Doug Weyand, Avenue Q
Brian Mysliwy (left), nominated for his performance in "La Bete."
Outstanding Actor in a Play Adriano Gatto, Emperor and Galilean Steve Jakiel, Superior Donuts Jimmy Janowski, Secrets of the Trade Brian Mysliwy, La Bête Michael Seitz, Avow Outstanding Actor in a Musical Louis Colaiacovo, A Class Act Steve Copps, Floyd Collins John Fredo, One More for My Baby Brian Riggs, Oliver! Marc Sacco, Avenue Q Outstanding Actress in a Play Kelli Bocock-Natale, Come Back Little Sheba Kristen Tripp Kelly, Time Stands Still Beverly Crowell, A Raisin in the Sun Lisa Ludwig, Secrets of the Trade Josephine Hogan, Vivien Outstanding Actress in a Musical Mary Craig, Three Sistahs Amy Jakiel, Avenue Q Kelly Jakiel, 42nd Street Loraine O’Donnell, Hedwig and the Angry Inch Debbie Pappas, 42nd Street Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Musical Jake Albarella, Avenue Q JR Finan, Floyd Collins Don Gervasi, One More for My Baby John Kaczorowski, A Grand Night for Singing Eric Rawski, Oliver! Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Play Patrick Cameron, In the Next Room (or the Vibrator Play) Stan Klimecko, Driving Miss Daisy David C. Mitchell, Laughter on the 23rd Floor David Lundy, Emperor and Galilean Gerry Maher, Superior Donuts
"Floyd Collins" and cast are nominated in six different categories.
Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Musical Kerrykate Abel, Hedwig and the Angry Inch Charmagne Chi, Avenue Q Cassie Gorniewicz, Oliver! Mary Coppola Jurich, A Class Act Pamela Rose Mangus, Floyd Collins Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play Heather Fangsrud, Lady Killers Ellen Horst, Imaging Madoff Maureen Porter, A Delicate Balance Stephanie Bax, Killer Joe Wendy Hall, In the Next Room (or the vibrator play) Emanuel Fried Award for Outstanding New Play The Birds Attack, Jimmy Janowski Clean Break, Darryl Schneider Ghost of Fort Niagara, Neal Radice Greenspan and the Trilobites, Michael Fanelli Lady Killers, Brazen-Faced Varlets Outstanding Set Design Dyan Burlingame, In the Next Room (or the vibrator play) Greg Faust, Emperor and Galilean David King, Time Stands Still Ron Schwartz, La Bête Kenneth Shaw, A Wrinkle in Time Outstanding Costume Design Kari Drozd, Oliver! Dixon Reynolds, La Bête Tiffany Hassan Tarver, For Colored Girls Todd Warfield, The Birds Attack Jessica Wegrzyn, Emperor and Galilean Outstanding Lighting Design Brian Cavanagh, Turn of the Screw Chris Cavanagh, Peter Pan John Rickus, A Wrinkle in Time Patricia Rihn, Procession John Rickus, St. Nicholas Career Achievement Kathleen Betsko-Yale