Arts & Culture Music

Crack The Sky “…The Best U.S. Prog Band You’ve Never Heard Of” Release Two Albums




New York, NY (August 23, 2018) – On January 1, 1976 Stephen Holden of Rolling Stone magazine called the debut album by West Virginian prog-rock pioneers Crack The Sky “…one of year’s most impressive debuts.”  Today, some 40 years later, Rolling Stone Magazine is calling them “…the Best U.S. Prog Band You’ve Never Heard,” and the band will release a pair of albums: Living In Reverse, a new studio album and Crackology, a collection of the band’s 12 career favorites, both out August 24, 2018 on Loud & Proud Records.

Living In Reverse showcases 12 new genre-defying Crack tracks including “Talk Talk” – the lyric video was included in the recent Rolling Stone feature, “Raining Rain” which BillboardMagazine premiered, and Living In Reverse” which Relix just premiered.   The retrospective Crackology chronicles a dozen of the best re-recorded gems as culled from the band’s rich and storied 40-year catalog. “They have more of an edge than the originals,” singer / guitarist / keyboardist John Palumbo affirms of the tracks on Crackology. “Those tracks all have more life to them now, and we play every one of them live.”  Track listings for both albums are below.  Pre-orders for both albums are available now through the band’s PledgeMusic site.

Named by Rolling Stone in their 2015 list of 50 Greatest Prog Rock Albums Of All Time and in their 20 Rock Albums Rolling Stone Loved in the 1970s That You Never Heard, the magazine’s very first review in 1976 went on to say, “Like the first albums of Steely Dan, 10cc, and the Tubes, Crack the Sky’s debut introduces a group whose vision of mid-Seventies ennui is original, humorous and polished without seeming too arty…writer / lead singer / keyboardist / guitarist John Palumbo, whose lyric gift for dark satire, written in the flip argot of rock, is second to none…If Palumbo’s lyrics are the latest in Seventies cynicism, their darkness is countered by the light-spiritedness of most of the music. Palumbo avoids conventional melodies, preferring to repeat a tuneful phrase and then abruptly break the mood he’s established with something nearly opposite in spirit…Crack The Sky’s ensemble singing and playing are impeccable…Palumbo’s lead vocals are chameleonlike, sometimes resembling Ian Hunter’s and Bowie’s…”

“We’ve been going back in time to try and find ourselves, even while we’ve been looking ahead to the future,” observes guitarist/producer Rick Witkowski. “And we’re looking to bring in new fans who’ve never heard what we’ve done before.” Adds lead vocalist/chief songwriter John Palumbo, “Eventually, you find that everything comes full circle, so it’s fair to say we’ve been quite reinvigorated as artists these past few years.”

Crack The Sky will be playing a special headline show on Saturday August 25, 2018 at MECU Pavilion (formerly Pier Six Pavilion) in Baltimore, MD for the 4th Annual Veteran’s Benefit Concert presented by Music Healing Heroes to benefit K9s for Warriors and the Wounded Warrior Project.  They will be performing songs from the new album, as well as from Crackology.

Crackology Track Listing:

  1. Hold On / Surf City
  2. She’s A Dancer
  3. Ice
  4. Robots For Ronnie
  5. Nuclear Apathy
  6. Lighten Up McGraw
  7. Long Nights
  8. Skin Deep
  9. Hot Razors
  10. From The Greenhouse
  11. Rachel
  12. The Beauty of Nothing


Living In Reverse Track Listing:

  1. Talk Talk
  2. Living In Reverse
  3. Raining Rain
  4.          Red Rosary
  5. Hit
  6. Big Dipper
  7. I’m On The Radio, Mom
  8. Jacket
  9. I’m Alright Now
  10. Bang
  11. I’m A Good Man
  12. Home Tonight

Tour Dates:

August 25, 2018 @ MECU / 4th Annual Veterans Benefit Concert – Baltimore MD
Crack The Sky To Headline and will feature a string section & the Crack Pack Horns
A first-time event for the band, playing an extended 2+ hour set.

November 2, 2018 & November 3, 2018 @ Rams Head On Stage – Annapolis, MD

November 4, 2018 @ Rams Head On Stage – Annapolis, MD


Crack The Sky is

John Palumbo – Lead Vocals, Guitars, Keys

Rick Witkowski – Guitars & Vocals

Joey D’Amico – Drums & Vocals

Bobby Hird – Guitars & Vocals

Glenn Workman – Keyboards & Vocals

Dave DeMarco – Bass & Vocals




Loud & Proud Records

%d bloggers like this: