Photo Credit: Zoe Prinds
Arts & Culture Music

Tiny Deaths Share “Don’t Let Go” Video Via Billboard | New LP ‘Magic’ Out 9/21 On Handwritten Records

Vocalist Claire de Lune makes glistening pop magic against Grant Cutler’s electro-beats.”

“Tiny Deaths’ Grant Cutler masterminds the group’s lush and brooding soundscapes, while Claire de Lune’s gorgeous, ethereal voice lends the songs a poignancy and power.”
– The 405

““Always,” is a soaring and swooning pop anthem.” 
– A.V. Club

Billboard has shared Tiny Deaths’ video for their new single “Don’t Let Go”. Prior to this video premiere, Tiny Deaths shared the video for their track “Us” on Tidal, with the single originally debuting on The 405. A.V. Club premiered the first single “Always” in May. The duo’s new LP ‘Magic’ is out 9/21 via Handwritten Records. It is the follow up to their 2017 LP ‘Elegies’.

Tiny Deaths is the Minneapolis, MN and Brooklyn, NY based dream-pop duo consisting of vocalist Claire de Lune and producer Grant Cutler. Their first full length album “Elegies” was released February 2017 and caught the attention of numerous press outlets including The Guardian (“Top of the playlist” for their feature on Minneapolis), Stereogum (“The Gardener” song premiere), Bust Magazine (“Wrong” video premiere), Bitch Media (“Ever” video premiere), Earmilk (video premiere), Minneapolis City Pages (‘Best EP of 2016’), and more.

Cutler and de Lune’s styles are like yin and yang: Cutler coming from a background in heavily experimental electronica and ambient music and mixed media art installations, and de Lune’s resume filled with RnB. Together, Cutler’s booming bass and lush soundscapes and de Lune’s rich, soulful vocals unite to form a wholly alive and fresh take on a moody, dreamy, ethereal sound bringing to mind bands like Phantogram, Beach House, and Purity Ring.

It’s telling that after a career of songs about love and heartache, none of the singles from the forthcoming sophomore full-length album by dream-pop duo tiny deaths are about relationships at all. A record firmly planted in a time and place, songwriter Claire de Lune describes the LP, as a “youth anthem for the apocalypse.” The record explores such themes as the growing pains of early adulthood, recognizing humanity, the survivor’s spirit, and the trappings of the music industry. “It’s a bit of a departure for us both topically and sonically” adds de Lune. “It sounds like us, but we’ve grown. We’re comfortable enough with our identity and who we are that we could explore and take risks. I think we pushed ourselves out of our musical comfort zone a bit, and I also pulled lyrical inspiration from places I had never found it before. It’s 2018 and I think we’re all living in a different world in so many ways than we were when we made ‘Elegies.’ This record is a product of a time and place in a way that no record we’ve ever made has been. It’s very special to us.”

Magic – Tracklisting

01. Us

02. Don’t Let Go

03. Always

04. Daughter

05. Autumn

06. Home

07. Take Our Time

08. Flame

09. Stop the Stars

10. Magic

%d bloggers like this: