Grace Jang
Arts & Culture

College Symphony opens season with Concerto Competition winner Grace Jang as soloist

The College Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Dr. David Rudge, begins another season featuring School of Music Concerto Competition winner and pianist Grace Jang playing the first movement of the Schumann Piano Concerto on Saturday, Oct. 20 at 8 p.m., in King Concert Hall at the State University of New York at Fredonia.

Ms. Jang is in the studio of School of Music Assistant Professor Eliran Avni.

The remainder of the program will focus on “Symphonic Dances.” The segment will begin with the highly romantic and imaginative “Dances of Rachmaninov,” the last work written by Rachmaninov, and close with a tribute to Leonard Bernstein’s centennial with his dramatic “Symphonic Dances” from the musical, “West Side Story.”

The concert is free and the public is invited to attend.

About the author


News and art, national and local. Began as alternative weekly in 1990 in Buffalo, NY. Publishing content online since 1996.

%d bloggers like this: