Arts & Culture

Alice Phoebe Lou releases first single from new album, announces international tour in support

Performing tomorrow at the internationally acclaimed venue, The Funkaus in Berlin, accompanied by her full band, a three piece brass section, and a choir of 20 women

“An artist who has captured my undivided attention: Alice Phoebe Lou… a singer who feels destined for the stars.” – Bob Boilen, NPR’s All Songs Considered

“A golden girl with a huge voice and somnambulistic self-confidence… She retains the WOW effect.” – Rolling Stone

Alice Phoebe Lou has unveiled “Something Holy,” the first single from the highly anticipated full length album, Paper Castles, which will be released on March 8th, 2019. She has also announced the Paper Castles 2019 Tour, kicking off on March 3rd in Toronto, Canada. All dates below. Listen to / watch the official video for “Something Holy” HERE.

A fire dancer turned singer-songwriter, Alice’s fiercely independent approach to her art has given her a creative confidence that shines through in her jazzy and ethereal indie songs, filled with captivating vocals and stripped back music. Born in South Africa and having developed her eclectic and distinctive sound busking on the streets of Berlin, she has caught the ears of a community of music lovers the world over. She’s earned praise from NPR, Rolling Stone, Blackbook and more, and has been previously nominated for Best Female Artist at the German Critics Choice Awards. In addition to relentless global touring, since 2016, she has put on a total of eleven sold out shows at the Berlin Planetarium (the biggest in Europe), working hand in hand with the director of the planetarium to produce a spectacular symbiosis of live sound and amazing visuals.

Paper Castles is Alice’s second full length release, following 2016’s Orbit. She has also independently released two EPs, Momentum and Sola, as well as several singles. In 2017, a live of the song, “She,” was released and racked up over four million plays on YouTube and was featured in the film Bombshell: The Heady Lamarr Story, executive produced by Susan Sarandon, all before the studio version of the single was even released. Produced by Noah Georgeson, Alice explains that Paper Castles is “about nostalgia, about growing into a woman, about the pain and beauty of the past, about feeling small and insignificant but finding that to be powerful and beautiful, about acknowledging that childhood is over but bringing some of it with you.” “Something Holy” specifically, reflects “the moment that I managed to get over the main hurdle of my past traumas with sex, with men and with my own deeper understanding of intimacy and what it means to be intimate.”

In support of Paper Castles, Alice will embark on an international tour, including her first ever North American headlining run, kicking off on March 3rd, 2019. Tickets are now available at

Paper Castles Track Listing

1. Little Spark

2. Nostalgia

3. Galaxies

4. Paper Castles

5. Fynbos

6. Something Holy

7. Skin Crawl

8. My Outside

9. New Song

10. Ocean

%d bloggers like this: